top of page

You Heard It From My Two Lips

Welcome back! Thanks for joining me again as I guest blog for Time Out Challenges. Today with the Smile prompt I made another fun card that was a little outside of my comfort zone. I've said in previous posts, I usually like the flowery more flowy kind of cards or blended backgrounds and using distress oxides or colored pencils to color.

This card uses designs and mediums I wouldn't normally use but I think it turned out really cute, perfect for a fun loving friend. I'm a stamp club member at Maymaymadeit.com and a few months back the stamp set was about lips. I wasn't sure how to use them since the set wasn't in my normal wheelhouse but when I heard the prompt for this challenge was "smile" I knew the set would work perfectly.

I wanted the card to feel whimsical by stamping lips all around it as a background and then have the sentiment be as a talk bubble coming from one of the lips. So to start I used the lips that I felt smiled the most from the stamp set and placed them on a 4x5.25 piece of cardstock. I stamped them multiple times in multiple different angles with Memento Black Ink using my Tim Holtz Stamp Platform.

Once stamped, I used my Spectrum Noir Markers to color in each of the lips in different color combinations and then colored the background with my grey marker.

To make the talk bubble, I stamped the talk bubble from the stamp set with versamark ink on black ink and embossed with white Ranger embossing powder. In order to create a completely encased talk bubble, I flipped the talk bubble stamp and selectively stamped the bubble.

Next, I embossed the sentiment "Your.....is the best" from the Thank You stamp set from Honey Bee Stamps. I die cut the word "Smile" 4 times from red cardstock and glued them together with Art Glitter Glue. I then put foam tape on the back of the talk bubble and adhered it so that it looked like a set of lips was speaking the sentiment. I then added the die cut smile to the talk bubble.

Then, I attached the card front to a A2 black note card. Lastly, I added Nuvo glitter pen to the lips and teeth, Glossy Accents to the die cut Smile and red and pink jewels along with many Honey Bee Stamps Rainbow rhinestones throughout the card.

I hope you enjoy the finished product and I know I can't wait to give it to my fun and fabulous friend!

bottom of page