top of page

Sweet Dreams


I'm so excited about this card!! Aaahhh!! I've been waiting to get the Paper Smooches Cross Stitch die and I finally bought it! I used to cross stitch in elementary and jr. high, my mom just gave me her stash of floss she had for years and when I heard people were creating cross stitch cards, I jumped on board.

I quickly looked on Pinterest for pictures people had posted of cards they had made with the die. I found one that seemed fairly simple to try as a first time card. Plus, it was a chevron patter and I like chevron!

Jaimee, one of the girls from church (and the person who made my amazing logo! Thanks Jaimee!) had her baby shower tonight, so last week I thought what better excuse to make a cute pink and gold cross stitch card? I decided to do an ombre kind of look with 3 colors of pink So I used light, medium and dark pink DMC floss and fine gold string I had in my stash. The pinks are all done in regular cross stitch pattern  while the gold is only in one direction. I did this because I thought the gold might be too overbearing if it was cross stitched like the pinks. 

One thing of note when using this die, you can choose to either poke all of the holes ahead of time or you can poke as you go. I chose the poke as you go method which can create a ton of "confetti and glitter" (as my husband calls it). I have a few other panels cut out and have opted to take my needle to them ahead of time. All I did was just drag the needle over them quickly and most of the "confetti" popped free from the holes. It's up to you which method you want to do, I just think going forward, I'd prefer less "confetti" :P

Once the stitching was complete, I trimmed down the cross stitch panel so that there was about a quarter inch on either side. Next I wrapped some white and gold thread around the panel and tied it in a bow. I also backed the panel to a 4x5.25 inch piece of light pink textured paper from Bazzil. To adhere the cross stitched panel I used double sided sticky tape I picked up from Maymaymadeit.com. I love that stuff! 

Lastly I created a little gold embossed "Sweet Dreams" sentiment strip to go below and to the right of the little white and gold bow. Once everything was attached to the light pink Bazzil paper I put some Art Glitter Glue on the pink paper and adhered it to a 4.25x5.5 white card base. 

Seriously, this is super cute in person and I think it's just warm and sweet enough that it reminds me of a baby blanket. Hope you enjoyed this card edition!

bottom of page