top of page

A Colorful Hi

Hello and welcome back! I'm trying out another card challenge today at timeout challenges (http://timeoutchallenges.blogspot.com/). This week's challenge is a "Home Sweet Home" color challenge with the following color palette:

Also, this month, I'm trying to work on my coloring by taking part of Kathy Racoosin's 30 day Color Challenge (thedailymarker.com). Yesterday I tried my hand at watercoloring a flower wreath . It didn't turn out exactly how I had planned because I made some missteps along the way but today I decided to take another stab at watercoloring, this time with my Arteza markers.

I first stamped the Zen flower pattern from Honey Bee Stamp on a 4x5.25in Strathmore watercolor paper. Then I dampened the paper slightly with my Arteza water brushes. Then I colored the flowers and leaves in bright colors.

After the flowers were colored in, I dried the paper and then went back to wet the edge of the flowers so that I could add the background purple color. I then brushed the light purple marker next to the edge of the flowers and down away from them. Because of the make up of the pens and how they work with water, the water will pull the pigment out of the pen and you should be able to get a fairly smooth shading and fade out. I did this several times until I got just the right gradient for my liking.

Once the bottom two thirds was the way I liked it, I took my t square ruler and my black Cricut pen to square off the edge of the flowers. I wanted a very clean edge so that the top 1/3 felt a little different than the bottom 2/3.

Then I stamped the Hi from Honey Bee Stamps Hello Gorgeous set and another flower from the Zen Floral set next to it. I added some Honey Bee Unicorn rhinestones in and around the flowers and glued the panel to a Bazzil purple card base.

Hope you enjoyed the card and have a good day!

bottom of page