top of page

Card Challenge #3 - Hello Sunshine!

I'm setting out for another card challenge at Simon Says Stamp. This weeks Wednesday challenge is - Use More Than One Stamp and their featured product line is Honey Be Stamps which I love so I had to enter! Have fun below!

 

So I don't know about you, but I love spring and summer when the sun is out! It just makes me happy! Here in Oregon we get a lot of rain from about October-April so we take any sun we can get from May-September (as I speak, it's cloudy...go figure! :P)

Anyway, so in honor of the spring and summer sunshiny days being upon us, I made a card that says "Hello!" to that great ball of warmth! :)

A few weeks ago I made a background by blending my Distress Oxides in a rainbow pattern and then stamping Honey Bee Stamps "Lotus Blossom" stamp repeatedly in Versamark ink all over the card. I loved it but at the time I could not figure out how to finish it off. Last week, while finishing up some other backgrounds (another post soon to be coming your way!) I wanted to make this background into a card but struggled because I didn't want to cover the background up.

That's when an idea hit me! Hello vellum! I stamped the sentiment "Hello Sunshine" from Honey Bee Stamps set "Hello Gorgeous" in Versamark ink and covered with Ranger White Embossing powder. (Quick shout out to Honey Bee Stamps! I loooooooove their stamp sets, dies and jewels. Plus, they're super speedy at sending out orders and I have to give a lot of love to a local company to me here in Oregon! You guys rock! :))

I cut the vellum piece down to strip and wrapped it around the rainbow background. I tacked the vellum down on the backside with double sided sticky tape I bought from Maymaymadeit.com.

In order to stick the vellum down in the front of the card, I put some art glitter glue under the "Hello" sentiment but it wasn't laying super flat, so I decided to create a border around the vellum with yellow ribbon. I tacked the ribbon down again with double sided sticky tape and that helped flatten it a bit. It isn't perfect but we're creating homemade happiness here, not perfection ;)

I attached this to a white card base and then lastly, added yellow rhinestones from Unicorn rhinestone mix from Honey Bee Stamps.

So bright and cheery! See you next time!

bottom of page