top of page

How've You Bean?

Hellooooo! How've you bean?? Today we're looking at the card I completed for the Coffee Loving Cardmakers Blog hop (http://coffeelovingcardmakers.com/)!

I heart coffee...seriously....heart.it. The smell, the taste, the everything. Now I don't know about you, but I like to taste my coffee. My husband does not. I say he likes the "idea" of coffee because he covers up the coffee with sugar and milk by making mochas. At home, we usually use cold brew coffee and I add a little (and I mean a little) bit of whipping cream, stevia and caramel extract. If I'm out and about, my preferred method of coffee is an americano with coconut milk or whipping cream (hot in fall & winter, iced in spring & summer). Sometimes during the summer I'll splurge and get a cold brew but they're a bit pricy for me. I digress....

Last winter, I randomly was looking at card websites and happened to find the Facebook page for Coffee Loving Cardmakers. I entered one of my cards for my secret sister last year in the blog hop, saw some amazing cards from others and made sure to stay tuned for their spring/summer hop. Well, this week is the big hop and I'm excited to post my card!!

I found a pattern to make a gift card holder that looks like a to go cup on jennifermaker.com. If you want to see some really great papercrafts you should check her out (Here's the link to this specific card template:(https://jennifermaker.com/coffee-cup-gift-card-holder/). She gives great tips and tricks and patterns. This particular pattern was an SVG file I could use on my Cricut. So I downloaded the pattern and sized it to an A2 size card on my Cricut. (Note: There are 3 main pieces to this design so if you are using the Cricut, you'll need to group them together in order to size them all to the same size)

I also changed the "Filled up for You" words from a cut to a write function on the pattern. I wasn't sure if the letters would be too small to cut out and I didn't want to chance it so I just had the Cricut write it out, which I think looks just fine.

Once cut out, I glued the lid piece to the inside cup piece. I scored the outside cup piece on either side for it to fold over. I also scored the jacket piece in the same manner and glued up both pieces. Then I fit the inside cup piece inside the outer cup piece and put the jacket piece over the outer cup piece.

I stamped some coffee beans on the jacket, and glued a gold glitter oval on the center of the jacket. I stamped "How've you bean?" from the Fiskars coffee stamp set I have on a piece of white cardstock and cut it out with one of stitched circle dies and glued it to the center of the glitter oval.

Lastly, I put gold and white twine around the top of the jacket and Glossy Accents on the cup lid! Now I just need a coffee gift card and send the cup of cheer on its way! :)

I hope you enjoyed reading my process on the card and go and see what other amazing pieces people are posting on the coffee lovers blog hop! Thanks for visiting!

bottom of page