top of page

Flower Power

Spring is here!! Finally!! We've been enjoying playing outside and planting in our garden and backyard so there's been little time for crafting lately. However, I just got in a stamp set from my monthly stamp club at Maymaymadeit.com and it's Ah-mazing!! I've been wanting more flowers in my stamp collection and it was like she read my mind for this month's stamp set!

I love hibiscus or anything that reminds me of Hawaii so the Happy Hibiscus set made me sooo happy! I stamped a bunch of flowers on white cardstock and went to town with my Spectrum Noir pens. I used pinks and reds on one flower, yellows and oranges on another, a gamut of pinks on another and purples and pinks on thr last one. I'm not great at Copic coloring but I tried to channel my inner Kelly Latevola and flick my was through the flowers. (Seriously, I love watching her color....and she tells great stories as you watch her color.) My flowers weren't perfect but they weren't bad either!

After coloring all of the flowers, I used my Brother Scan N Cut to cut out the flowers and leaves. I've said it before but I hate fussy cutting. The scan n cut helps not have to do any of that. One tip I did learn this time around....make sure you use the right mat. I accidentally used the less sticky mat with Bristol smooth paper....not a wise choice 🤦🏼‍♀️ As the machine was cutting, the paper slipped off the mat and so one of the flowers didn't cut out properly...Whoops! Lesson learned!

After that little misstep, to put the cards together I just "let the paper do the work." I cut standard A2 card bases on white cardstock. Then went through my paper stash and found pattern paper that would go with the colors of the hibiscus.

I really love the whimsy of the Aloha card. The sentiment is from one of my first stamp sets I picked up from JoAnns and I thought it gave the Hawaiian vibe I was going for. I finished off the card with Unicorn jewels from Honey Bee Stamps.

The I Am Here for you card used another Maymay stamp set for the sentiment. The hibiscus is covered with Glossy Accents, which is hard to see in the picture but it is stunning! I used Honey Bee Stamps Rainbow jewels for thr bling. (I just realized I bought Rainbow and Unicorn jewels...oh my...)

The Thanks For All You Do card uses Honey Bee Stamps Thanks stamp set along with their Unicorn gems. Lastly, I put Tonic Nuvo shimmer pen over the hibiscus because I can't get enough bling!

I hope you all enjoy the post and happy crafting!

bottom of page